SEO, Web Design,
& Online
Dictionary
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U • V • W •
X
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301 Redirect – A message that the URL has moved permanently.
This is commonly used when a URL has a new location and will not be
appearing again at the old URL.
302 Redirect – A “found” message. (Also referred to as a
“temporary redirect.”) This form of redirection is commonly used --
and in some cases abused -- when a URL has been moved to a different
location; but, it will be returning to the original location
eventually.
403 Server Code – A “forbidden” message. Prevents access to a
URL and displays the reason for preventing access.
404 Server Code – A “not found” message. Server cannot find
the URL requested.
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A
AJAX – Stands for Asynchronous JavaScript and
XML. Ajax is a programming language that allows for the updating
of specific sections of content on a web page, without completely
reloading the page.
API – Acronym for Application Programming Interface. This
is a program that advertisers create to manage their SEM campaigns,
bypassing the search engines’ interfaces.
A/B Testing – A/B testing, at its simplest, is randomly
showing a visitor one version of a page – (A) version or (B) version
– and tracking the changes in behavior based on which version they
saw. (A) version is normally your existing design (“control” in
statistics lingo); and (B) version is the “challenger” with one copy
or design element changed. In a “50/50 A/B split test,” you’re
flipping a coin to decide which version of a page to show. A classic
example would be comparing conversions resulting from serving either
version (A) or (B), where the versions display different headlines.
A/B tests are commonly applied to clicked-on ad copy and landing
page copy or designs to determine which version drives the more
desired result. See also Multivariate Testing.
Absolute URL’s Link - Absolute URLs use the full-path
address, such as http://www.domain.com/page1.htm. (See also Relative
URL’s link.)
Acquisition Strategy – A process of finding those potential
customers who are in the market and ready to buy. The attempt to
lead customers to a web site and to welcome them, answer their
questions and close the sale.
Ad – Advertisements a searcher sees after submitting a
query in a search engine or web site search box. In PPC, these ads
are usually text format, with a Title, Description and Display URL.
In some cases, a keyword the searcher used in his or her query
appears boldfaced in the displayed ad. Ads can be positioned
anywhere on a search results page; commonly they appear at the top –
above the natural or organic listings – and on the right side of the
page, also known as “Right Rail.”
Ad Copy – The main text of a clickable search or
context-served ad. It usually makes up the second and third lines of
a displayed ad, between the Ad Title and the Display URL.
Ad Title – The first line of text displayed in a clickable
search or context-served ad. Ad Titles serve as ad headlines.
Affiliate Marketing – Affiliate marketing is a process of
revenue sharing that allows merchants to duplicate sales efforts by
enlisting other web sites as a type of outside sales force.
Successful affiliate marketing programs result in the merchant
attracting additional buyers, and the affiliate earning the
equivalent of a referral fee, based on click-through referrals to
the merchant site.
Algorithm – A set of rules that a search engine uses to
rank listings in response to a query. Search engines guard their
algorithms closely, as they are the unique formulas used to
determine relevancy. Algorithms are sometimes referred to as the
”secret sauce.”
ALT Text – Also known as alternative text or alt
attribute. An HTML tag (ALT tag) used to provide images with a
text description in the event images are turned off in a web
browser. The images text description is usually visible while
“hovering” over the image. This tag is also important for the web
access of the visually impaired.
Anchor Text - Words used to link to a page, known as anchor
text are an important signal to search
engines to determine a page’s relevance.
Arbitrage – A practice through which web publishers –
second tier search engines, directories and vertical search engines
– engage in the buying and reselling of web traffic. Typically,
arbitrage occurs when such publishers pool client budgets to engage
in PPC campaigns on Tier I search engines (Google, Yahoo!, MSN). If
the publishers pay $0.10 per click for traffic, they typically
resell those visitors to clients who bid $0.20 or more for the same
keywords. Successful arbitrage requires that the arbitrageur must
pay less per click than what the traffic sells for. The variation
called Affiliate Arbitrage involves a web site owner or blogger
bidding on keywords from programs such as Yahoo! Search Marketing or
Google AdWords, who then links the ads, either to their own web
site, or directly to a merchant site displaying ads (from programs
such as the Yahoo! Publisher Network or Google AdSense).
Auction Model Bidding – The most popular
type of PPC bidding. First, an advertiser determines what maximum
amount per click they are willing to spend for a keyword. If there
is no competition for that keyword, the advertiser pays their bid,
or less, for every click. If there is competition at auction for
that keyword, then the advertiser with the highest bid will pay one
penny more than their nearest competitor. For example, advertiser A
is willing to bid up to $0.50; advertiser B is willing to bid up to
$0.75. If advertiser A’s actual bid is $0.23, then advertiser B will
only pay $0.24 per click. Also referred to as market or
competition-driven bidding.
Automatic Optimization – Search engines identify
which ad for an individual advertiser demonstrates the highest CTR
(click-through rate) as time progresses, and then optimizes the ad
serve, showing that ad more often than other ads in the same Ad
Group/Ad Order.
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B
B2B – Stands for “Business to Business.” A business that
markets its services or products to other businesses.
B2C – Stands for “Business to
Consumer.” A business that markets its services or products to
consumers.
Backlinks – All the links pointing at a particular web
page. Also called inbound links. Source: Webmaster World
Forums
Ban – Also known as Delisting. Refers to a punitive
action imposed by a search engine in response to being spammed. Can
be an IP address of a specific URL
Baseline Metrics – Time-lagged calculations (usually
averages of one sort or another) which provide a basis for making
comparisons of past performance to current performance. Baselines
can also be forward-looking, such establishing a goal and seeking to
determine whether the trends show the likelihood of meeting that
goal. They become an essential piece of a Key Performance Indicator
(KPI).
Behavioral Targeting – The practice of targeting and
serving ads to groups of people who exhibit similarities not only in
their location, gender or age, but also in how they act and react in
their online environment. Behaviors tracked and targeted include web
site topic areas they frequently visit or subscribe to; subjects or
content or shopping categories for which they have registered,
profiled themselves or requested automatic updates and information,
etc.
Bid – The maximum amount of money that an advertiser is
willing to pay each time a searcher clicks on an ad. Bid prices can
vary widely depending on competition from other advertisers and
keyword popularity.
Bid Boosting – A form of automated bid management that
allows you to increase your bids when ads are served to someone
whose age or gender matches your target market. This level of
demographic focus and the “bid boosting” tool are current Microsoft
adCenter offerings.
Bid Management Software - Software that manages PPC
campaigns automatically, called either rules-based (with triggering
rules or conditions set by the advertiser) or intelligent software
(enacting real-time adjustments based on tracked conversions and
competitor actions). Both types of automatic bid management programs
monitor and change bid prices, pause campaigns, manage budget
maximums, adjust multiple keyword bids based on CTR, position
ranking and more.
Black Box Algorithms – Black box is technical
jargon for a when system is viewed primarily in terms of input and
output characteristics. A black box algorithm is one where
the user cannot see the inner workings of the algorithm. All search
engine algorithms are hidden.
Blacklists - A list of Web sites that are considered off
limits or dangerous. A Web site can be placed on a blacklist because
it is a fraudulent operation or because it exploits browser
vulnerabilities to send spyware and other unwanted software to the
user.
Blogs – A truncated form for “web log.” A blog is a
frequently updated journal that is intended for general public
consumption. They usually represent the personality of the author or
web site. A good source of blogging terms is at [http://www.whatis.techtarget.com]
.
Brand – Customer or user experience represented by images
and ideas, often referring to a symbol (name, logo, symbols, fonts,
colors), a slogan and a design scheme. Brand recognition and other
reactions are created by the accumulation of experiences with the
specific product or service, both from its use, and as influenced by
advertising, design and media commentary. Brand is often
developed to represent implicit values, ideas and even personality.
Source: Wikipedia
Brand and Branding – “A brand is a customer experience
represented by a collection of images and ideas; often, it refers to
a symbol such as a name, logo, slogan, and design scheme. Brand
recognition and other reactions are created by the accumulation of
experiences with the specific product or service, both directly
relating to its use, and through the influence of advertising,
design, and media commentary.” (Added Definition) “A brand
often includes an explicit logo, fonts, color schemes, symbols,
sound which may be developed to represent implicit values, ideas,
and even personality.” Source: Wikipedia
Brand Lift – A measurable increase in consumer
recall for a specific, branded company, product or service. For
example, brand lift might show an increase in respondents who think
of Dell for computers, or WalMart for “every household thing.”
Brand Messaging – Creative messaging that presents and
maintains a consistent corporate image across all media channels,
including search.
Brand Reputation - The position a company brand occupies.
Branding Strategy – The attempt to develop a strong brand
reputation on the web to increase brand recognition and create a
significant volume of impressions.
Bridge Page – Often used to describe the web pages that
linked together many doorway pages on a web site. Also see:
Doorway Page, Hallway Page.
Bucket – An associative grouping for related concepts,
keywords, behaviors and audience characteristics associated with
your company's product or service. A “virtual container” of similar
concepts used to develop PPC keywords, focus ad campaigns and target
messages.
Buying Funnel – Also called the Buying Cycle,
Buyer Decision Cycle and Sales Cycle, Buying Funnel
refers to a multi-step process of a consumer’s path to purchase a
product – from awareness to education to preferences and intent to
final purchase.
Buzz Monitoring Services – Services that will email a
client regarding their status in an industry. Most buzz or publicity
monitoring services will email anytime a company’s name, executives,
products, services or other keyword-based information on them are
mentioned on the web. Some services charge a fee; others, such
as Yahoo! and Google Alerts, are free.
Buzz Opportunities – Topics popular in the media
and with specific audiences that receive news coverage or pass along
recommendations that help increase exposure for a brand. Ways to
uncover potential buzz opportunities include reviewing incoming
traffic to a web site from organic links and developing new keywords
to reach those visitors, or scanning special interest blogs and
social media sites to learn what new topics attract rising interest,
also to develop new keywords and messages.
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C
COA – Acronym for Cost of Acquisition, which is how much
it costs to acquire a conversion (desired action), such as a sale.
CPA – Acronym for Cost Per Acquisition (sometimes called
Cost Per Action), which is the total cost of an ad campaign divided
by the number of conversions. For example, if a campaign cost $100
and resulted in 5 conversions, the CPA is $20 ($100 / 5). It cost
$20 to generate one conversion.
CPA or “Cost Per Acquisition” – Also referred to as “Cost
Per Action.” This is a metric used to measure the total monetary
cost of each sale, lead or action from start to finish.
CPC – Acronym for Cost Per Click, or the amount search
engines charge advertisers for every click that sends a searcher to
the advertiser’s web site. For an advertiser, CPC is the total cost
for each click-through received when its ad is clicked on.
CPC or “Cost Per Click” - Some search engines
charge advertisers a cost for every click sent to their web site.
The “CPC” is the total cost for each click received.
CPM – Acronym for Cost Per Thousand Impressions (ad serves
or potential viewers). Compare to CPC pricing (defined above). CPM
is a standard monetization model for offline display ad space, as
well as for some context-based networks serving online search ads
to, for example, web publishers and sites.
CPM or “Cost Per Thousand” – A unit of measure typically
assigned to the cost of displaying an ad. If an ad appears on a web
page 1,000 times and costs $5, then the CPM would be $5. In this
instance, every 1,000 times an ad appeared, it would incur a charge
of $5.
CPO – Acronym for Cost Per Order. The dollar amount of
advertising or marketing necessary to acquire an order. Calculated
by dividing marketing expenses by the number of orders. Also
referred to as CPA (Cost Per Acquisition).
CTR – Acronym for Click-Through Rate, the number of clicks
that an ad gets, divided by the total number of times that ad is
displayed or served. (Represented as: total clicks / total
impressions for a specific ad = CTR). For example, if an ad has 100
impressions and 6 clicks, the CTR is 6%. The higher the CTR, the
more visitors your site is receiving; CTR also factors into you
advertiser search engine Quality Score and, therefore, your minimum
keyword bids on Tier I engines.
Campaign Integration – Planning and executing a
paid search campaign concurrently with other marketing initiatives,
online or offline, or both. More than simply launching simultaneous
campaigns, true paid search integration takes all marketing
initiatives into consideration prior to launch, such as consistent
messaging and image, driving offline conversions, supporting brand
awareness, increasing response rates and contributing to ROI
business goals.
Canonicalization – The process of picking the best URL
when there are several choices; this usually refers to home pages.
Source: Matt Cutts Blog: SEO Advice. In addition,
“Canonicalization is the process of converting data that has more
than one possible representation into a "standard" canonical
representation. This can be done to compare different
representations for equivalence, to count the number of distinct
data structures (e.g., in combinatorics), to improve the efficiency
of various algorithms by eliminating repeated calculations, or to
make it possible to impose a meaningful sorting order.” Source:
Wikipedia
Cascading Style Sheets or CSS – An addition to your HTML,
a web site’s “cascading style sheet” contains information on
paragraph layout, font sizes, colors, etc. A cascading style sheet
has many uses as far as search engine optimization and web site
design are concerned.
Click Bot – A program generally used to artificially click
on paid listings within the engines in order to artificially inflate
click amounts.
Click Fraud – Clicks on a Pay-Per-Click advertisement that
are motivated by something other than a search for the advertised
product or service. Click fraud may be the result of malicious or
negative competitor/affiliate actions motivated by the desire to
increase costs for a competing advertiser or to garner click-through
costs for the collaborating affiliate. Also affects search engine
results by diluting the quality of clicks.
Click Through - When a user clicks on a hypertext link and
is taken to the destination of that link
Click Through Rate – The percentage of those clicking on a
link out of the total number who see the link. For example, imagine
10 people do a web search. In response, they see links to a variety
of web pages. Three of the 10 people all choose one particular link.
That link then has a 30 percent click-through rate. Also called
CTR. Source: Webmaster World Forums
Client-side Tracking - Client-side tracking entails the
process of tagging every page that requires tracking on the Web site
with a block of JavaScript code. This method is cookie based
(available as first or third party cookies) and is readily available
to companies who do not own or manage their own servers.
Cloaking - The process by which a web site can display
different versions of a web page under different circumstances. It
is primarily used to show an optimized or a content-rich page to the
search engines and a different page to humans. Most major search
engine representatives have publicly stated that they do not approve
of this practice.
Comment - The text contained within a “comment” tag
in a web page. “Comments” are used in a variety of situations, such
as communication between web developers and Cascading Style Sheets
(See Above).
Competitive Analysis – As used in SEO, CA is the
assessment and analysis of strengths and weaknesses of competing web
sites, including identifying traffic patterns, major traffic
sources, and keyword selection.
Consumer Generated Media (CGM) - Refers to posts made by
consumers to support or oppose products, web sites, or companies,
which are very powerful when it comes to company image. It can reach
a large audience and, therefore, may change your business
overnight.
Content Management Systems (CMS) - In computing, a content
management system (CMS) is a document centric collaborative
application for managing documents and other content. A CMS is often
a web application and often it is used as a method of managing web
sites and web content. The market for content management systems
remains fragmented, with many open source and proprietary solutions
available. Source: Wikipedia.org
Content Network – Also called Contextual Networks,
content networks include Google and Yahoo! Contextual Search
networks that serve paid search ads triggered by keywords related to
the page content a user is viewing.
Content Targeting – An ad serving process in Google and
Yahoo! that displays keyword triggered ads related to the content or
subject (context) of the web site a user is viewing. Contrast to
search network serves, in which an ad is displayed when a user types
a keyword into the search box of a search engine or one of its
partner sites.
Contextual Advertising – Advertising that is automatically
served or placed on a web page based on the page’s content, keywords
and phrases. Contrast to a SERP (search engine result page) ad
display. For example, contextual ads for digital cameras would be
shown on a page with an article about photography, not because the
user entered “digital cameras” in a search box.
Contextual Distribution – The marketing decision to
display search ads on certain publisher sites across the web instead
of, or in addition to, placing PPC ads on search networks.
Contextual Network – Also called Content Ads and
Content Network, contextual network ads are served on web
site pages adjacent to content that contains the keywords being bid
upon. Contextual ads are somewhat like traditional display ads
placed in print media and, like traditional ad buys, are often
purchased on the same CPM (cost per thousand impressions) model for
purchased keywords, rather than a CPC basis
Contextual Search – A search that analyzes the page being
viewed by a user and gives a list of related search results. Offered
by Yahoo! and Google.
Contextual Search Campaigns – A paid placement search
campaign that takes a search ad listing beyond search engine results
pages and onto the sites of matched content web partners.
Conversion Action – The desired action you want a visitor
to take on your site. Includes purchase, subscription to the company
newsletter, request for follow-up or more information (lead
generation), download of a company free offer (research results, a
video or a tool), subscription to company updates and news.
Conversion Rate - Conversion rates are measurements that
determine how many of your prospects perform the prescribed or
desired action step. If your prescribed response is for a visitor to
sign up for a newsletter, and you had 100 visitors and 1 newsletter
signup, then your conversion rate would be 1%. Typically,
micro-conversions (for instance, reading different pages on your
site) lead to your main conversion step (making a purchase, or
signing up for a service).
Conversion Rate – The number of visitors who convert (take
a desired action at your site) after clicking through on your ad,
divided by the total number of click-throughs to your site for that
ad. (Expressed as: total click-throughs that convert / total
click-throughs for that ad = conversion rate.) For example, if an ad
brings in 150 click-throughs and 6 of the 150 clicks result in a
desired conversion, then the conversion rate is 4% (6 / 150 = 0.04).
Higher conversion rates generally translate into more successful PPC
campaigns with a better ROI.
Copyright – Protection and ownership of works or
expressions fixed in a tangible form, including words, art, images,
sounds, and music. Copyright gives the owner the exclusive right to
copy, display, license, or expand the work. Copyrights cover
virtually any original expression; and the protection arises under
common law as soon as the original expression is created (fixed in
tangible form). However, proving ownership of the original
expression may be difficult legally, unless the work was displayed
or used publicly at a verifiable point in time.
Crawler – Automated programs in search engines that gather
web site listings by automatically crawling the web. A search
engine's crawler (also called a spider or robot) “reads” page text
contents and web page coding, and also follows links to other
hyperlinked pages on the web pages it crawls. A crawler makes copies
of the web pages found and stores these in the search engine's
index, or database.
Crawler: Also known as a bot and spider, a
crawler is a program that search engines use to seek out information
on the web. The act of “crawling” on a web site is referred to when
the crawler begins to search through documents contained within the
web site. Also see Index.
Creatives – Unique words, design and display of a
paid-space advertisement. In paid search advertising, creative
refers to the ad’s title (headline), description (text offer) and
display URL (clickable link to advertiser’s web site landing page).
Unique creative display includes word emphasis (boldfaced,
italicized, in quotes), typeface style and, on some sites, added
graphic images, logos, animation or video clips.
Custom Feed – Create custom feeds for each of the shopping
engines that allow you to submit XML feeds. Each of the engines has
different product categories and feed requirements.
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D
DHTML – Stands for Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language.
DKI – Acronym for Dynamic Keyword Insertion, the insertion
of the EXACT keywords a searcher included in his or her search
request in the returned ad title or description. As an advertiser,
you have bid on a table or cluster of these keyword variations, and
DKI makes your ad listings more relevant to each searcher.
DMCA – Acronym for Digital Millennium Copyright Act. “The
Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) is a United States copyright
law which….criminalizes production and dissemination of technology,
devices, or services that are used to circumvent measures that
control access to copyrighted works (commonly known as DRM), and
criminalizes the act of circumventing an access control, even when
there is no infringement of copyright itself. [Circumvention of
controlled access includes unscrambling, copying, sharing,
commercial recording or reverse engineering copyrighted
entertainment or software.] It also heightens the penalties for
copyright infringement on the Internet.” Source: Wikipedia
Dayparting – The ability to specify different times of day
– or day of week – for ad displays, as a way to target searchers
more specifically. An option that limits serves of specified ads
based on day and time factors.
Deep Linking – Linking that guides, directs and links a
click-through searcher (or a search engine crawler) to a very
specific and relevant product or category web page from search terms
and PPC ads.
Description Tag - Refers to the information contained in
the description META tag. This tag is meant to hold the brief
description of the web page it is included on. The information
contained in this tag is generally the description displayed
immediately after the main link on many search engine result pages.
Directory Search – Also known as a search directory.
Refers to a directory of web sites contained in an engine that are
categorized into topics. The main difference between a search
directory and a search engine is in how the listings are obtained. A
search directory relies on user input in order to categorize and
include a web site. Additionally, a directory usually only includes
higher-level pages of a domain.
Display URL – The web page URL that one actually
sees in a PPC text ad. Display URL usually appears as the last line
in the ad; it may be a simplified path for the longer actual URL,
which is not visible.
Distribution Network – A network of web sites (content
publishers, ISPs) or search engines and their partner sites on which
paid ads can be distributed. The network receives advertisements
from the host search engine, paid for with a CPC or CPM model. For
example, Google’s advertising network includes not only the Google
search site, but also searchers at AOL, Netscape and the New York
Post online edition, among others.
Domain – Refers to a specific web site address.
Doorway Page – A web page specifically created in order to
obtain rankings within the natural listings of a search engine.
These pages generally are filled with keywords and are meant to
funnel surfers into the main web site. This practice is generally
considered an outdated spam tactic. This term is not to be confused
with a “landing page.”
Dynamic Landing Pages – Dynamic landing pages are web
pages to which click-through searchers are sent that generate
changeable (not static) pages with content specifically relevant to
the keyword search. For example, if a user is looking for trucks,
then a dynamic landing page with information and pictures on
multiple models and, possibly, geographically localized dealerships
might be served. The term truck would trigger a data dump
into a web site template for all possible vehicles, that serves all
truck-related information.
Dynamic Text (Insertion) – This is text, a keyword or ad
copy that customizes search ads returned to a searcher by using
parameters to insert the desired text somewhere in the title or ad.
When the search query (for example, “hybrid cars”) matches the
defined parameter (for example, all brands of electric/gasoline
passenger cars AND SUVs), then the associated term (hybrid) is
plugged into the ad. Dynamic insertion makes the ad mirror exact
terms used in the search query, creating very relevant ads. See also
DKI (Dynamic Keyword Insertion).
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E
eCPM – Acronym for Effective Cost Per Thousand, a hybrid
Cost-Per-Click (CPC) auction calculated by multiplying the CPC times
the click-through rate (CTR), and multiplying that by one thousand.
(Represented by: (CPC x CTR) x 1000 = eCPM.) This monetization model
is used by Google to rank site-targeted CPM ads (in the Google
content network) against keyword-targeted CPC ads (Google AdWords
PPC) in their hybrid auction.
Ecommerce - Conducting commercial transactions on the
internet where goods, information or services are bought and sold.
Editorial Review Process – A review process for potential
advertiser listings conducted by search engines, which check to
ensure relevancy and compliance with the engine’s editorial policy.
This process could be automated – using a spider to crawl ads – or
it could be human editorial ad review. Sometimes it’s a combination
of both. Not all PPC Search Engines review listings.
Entry Page – Refers to any page within a web site that a
user employs to “enter” your web site. Also see Landing Page.
Eye Tracking Studies – Studies by Google, Marketing Sherpa
and Poynter Institute using Eyetools technology to track the eye
movements of web page readers, in order to understand reading and
click-through patterns.
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F
FAQ – Stands for “Frequently Asked Questions.”
F.F.A – Stands for “Free for All” link pages. These are
not search engines or directories. They are, for the most part,
pages that simply take URL submissions that usually stay active for
a period of time. A submission is placed at the top of their list
and then moved down, and eventually out, as other submissions are
made. These are seen as outdated and were used in an attempt to
artificially inflate link popularity.
F.T.P – Stands for “File Transfer Protocol.”
Feeds – A web document that is a shortened or updated
(revised content only) version of a web page created for
syndication. Usually served at user request, through subscription;
also includes ad feeds to shopping engines and paid-inclusion ad
models. Ad feeds are usually in Extensible Markup Language (XML) or
Rich Site Summary (RSS) format.
Flash – “Flash technology has become a popular method for
adding animation and interactivity to web pages; several software
products, systems, and devices are able to create or display Flash.
Flash is commonly used to create animation, advertisements, various
web page components, to integrate video into web pages, and more
recently, to develop rich internet applications.” Source:
Wikipedia
Frames - HTML technique that allows two or more pages to
display in one browser window. Many search engines had trouble
indexing web sites that used frames, generally only seeing the
contents of a single frame. See also “No Frames.”
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G
G.U.I – Stands for “Graphical User Interface.” Means a
visual representation of the functional code. Or, is a way for the
average web user to interface with a database, program, etc.
Gateway page – See Doorway Page.
Geo-Targeting – The geographic location of the searcher.
Geo-targeting allows you to specify where your ads will or won’t be
shown based on the searcher’s location, enabling more localized and
personalized results.
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H
.htaccess file – A file with one or more configuration
directives placed in a web site document directory. The directives
apply to that directory and all subdirectories.
HTTP – Stands for “Hypertext Transfer Protocol.”
HTTPS – Stands for “Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure.”
HTTP Referrer Data – A program included in most web
analytics packages that analyzes and reports the source of traffic
to the user’s web site. The HTTP referrer allows webmasters, site
owners and PPC advertisers to uncover new audiences or sites to
target or to calculate conversions and ROI for future ad campaigns.
Head Terms – Search terms that are short, popular and
straightforward; e.g., "helicopter skiing." These short terms are
called "head terms" based on a bell-curve distribution of keyword
usage that displays the high numbers of most-used terms at the
“head” end of the bell curve graph. See also Tail Terms.
Hidden text -- (Also known as Invisible text.) Text
that is visible to the search engines but hidden to a user. It is
traditionally accomplished by coloring a block of HTML text the same
color as the background color of the page. More creative methods
have also been employed to create the same effect while making it
more difficult for the search engines to detect or filter it. It is
primarily used for the purpose of including extra keywords in the
page without distorting the aesthetics of the page. Most search
engines penalize or ignore URLs from web sites that use this
practice.
Hit – The request or retrieval of any item located within
a web page. For example, if a user enters a web page with 5 pictures
on it, it would be counted as 6 “hits.” One hit is counted for the
web page itself, and another 5 hits count for the pictures.
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I
IFRAME – “IFrame (from inline frame) is an HTML
element which makes it possible to embed another HTML document
inside the main document. The size of the IFrame is specified in the
surrounding HTML page, so that the surrounding page can already be
presented in the browser while the IFrame is still being loaded. The
IFrame behaves much like an inline image, and the user can scroll it
out of view. On the other hand, the IFrame can contain its own
scroll bar, independent of the surrounding page's scroll bar.
Source: Wikipedia
IPTV – Acronym for Internet Protocol Television, which
delivers digital television service using the Internet Protocol over
a network. IPTV delivery may be through a high capacity, high speed
broadband connection. Compared to traditional broadcast and cable
television, IPTV may offer new venues for PPC search advertisers
through program interfaces and stored individual preferences.
Source: Wikipedia
Impression – One view or display of an ad. Ad reports list
total impressions per ad, which tells you the number of times your
ad was served by the search engine when searchers entered your
keywords (or viewed a content page containing your keywords).
Index – A search engine’s “index” refers to the amount of
documents found by a search engines crawler on the web.
Indexability - Also known as crawlability and
spiderability. Indexability refers to the potential of a web
site or its contents to be crawled or “indexed” by a search engine.
If a site is not “indexable,” or if a site has reduced indexability,
it has difficulties getting its URLs included.
IP Address – “Dedicated and shared IPs. –(An IP
address is) an identifier for a computer or device on a TCP/IP
network. Networks using the TCP/IP protocol route messages based on
the IP address of the destination. The format of an IP address is a
32-bit numeric address, written as four numbers separated by
periods. Each number can be zero to 255. For example, 1.160.10.240
could be an IP address.” Source: Webopedia. (Added
definition) An IP Address can be dedicated for one web site or
shared by multiple web sites.
IP Address – Abbreviation for Internet Protocol
Address, a unique combination of numbers assigned to individual
electronic devices or networks that communicate over the Internet.
Basically, it’s a trackable address for any computer, and it can be
used to localize results (see Geo-Targeting). Internet
Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) oversees global IP address
allocation.
IP Address Lookup – The process of
determining a unique Internet Protocol (IP) address. DNSstuff is one
free program to look up an IP address (http://www.dnsstuff.com).
IASAPI_rewrite - ISAPI_rewrite is a powerful URL
manipulation engine based on regular expressions. It acts mostly
like Apache's mod_rewrite, but is designed specifically for
Microsoft's Internet Information Server (IIS). ISAPI_rewrite is an
ISAPI filter written in pure C/C++ so it is extremely fast.
ISAPI_rewrite gives you the freedom to go beyond the standard URL
schemes and develop your own scheme. Source:
http://www.isapirewrite.com
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J
JavaScript – JavaScript is a scripting language based on
prototype-based programming. It is used on a web site as client-side
JavaScript, and also to enable scripting access to objects in other
applications.
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K
Keyword - A single word that relates to a specific subject
or topic. For example, “glossary” would be a keyword for this
document. See also Keyword Phrase.
Keyword / Keyword Phrase – A specific word or combination
of words that a searcher might type into a search field. Includes
generic, category keywords; industry-specific terms; product brands;
common misspellings and expanded variations (called Keyword
Stemming), or multiple words (called Long Tail for their
lower CTRs but sometimes better conversion rates). All might be
entered as a search query. For example, someone looking to buy
coffee mugs might use the keyword phrase “ceramic coffee mugs.”
Also, keywords – which trigger ad network and contextual network ad
serves – are the auction components on which PPC advertisers bid for
all Ad Groups/Orders and campaigns.
Keyword Density - The number of times a keyword or
keyword phrase is used in the body of a page. This is a percentage
value determined by the number of words on the page, as opposed to
the number of times the specific keyword appears within it. In
general, the higher the number of times a keyword appears in a page,
the higher its density.
Keyword Phrase – Two or more keywords relating to a
specific topic. For example, “Mind numbingly boring glossary” would
be a keyword phrase to describe this document.
Keyword Stemming – To return to the root or stem of a word
and build additional words by adding a prefix or suffix, or using
pluralization. The word can expand in either direction and even add
words, increasing the number of variable options.
Keyword Stuffing – Generally refers to the act of adding
an inordinate number of keyword terms into the HTML or tags of a web
page.
Keyword Tag - Refers to the META keywords tag within a web
page. This tag is meant to hold approximately 8 – 10 keywords or
keyword phrases, separated by commas. These phrases should be either
misspellings of the main page topic, or terms that directly reflect
the content on the page on which they appear. Keyword tags are
sometimes used for internal search results as well as viewed by
search engines.
Keyword Targeting – Displaying Pay Per Click search ads on
publisher sites across the Web (see also Contextual Networks)
that contain the keywords in a context advertiser’s Ad Group.
KPI, Key Performance Indicators -- KPI are metrics used to
quantify objectives that reflect the strategic performance of your
online marketing campaigns. They provide business and marketing
intelligence to assess a measurable objective and the direction in
which that objective is headed. (See Module 5, Lesson 2, for key
definitions for general and SEO-specific KPIs.)
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L
Landing Page / Destination Page – The web page at which a
searcher arrives after clicking on an ad. When creating a PPC ad,
the advertiser displays a URL (and specifies the exact page URL in
the code) on which the searcher will land after clicking on an ad in
the SERP. Landing pages are also known as “where the deal is
closed,” as it is landing page actions that determine an
advertiser’s conversion rate success.
Latent Semantic Indexing - LSI uses word associations to
help search engines know more accurately what a page is about.
Lead Generation – Web sites that generate leads for
products or services offered by another company. On a lead
generation site, the visitor is unable to make a purchase but will
fill out a contact form in order to get more information about the
product or service presented. A submitted contact form is considered
a lead. It contains personal information about a visitor who has
some degree of interest in a product or service.
Link Cardinality – See “Link Popularity.”
Link Farming – The attempt to substantially and
artificially increase link popularity.
Link Popularity – Link popularity generally refers to the
total number of links pointing to any particular URL. There are
typically two types of link popularity: Internal and External.
Internal link popularity typically refers to the number of links or
pages within a web site that link to a specific URL. External link
popularity refers to the number of inbound links from external web
sites that are pointing to a specific URL. If you have more “links”
than your competitors, you are typically known to have link
cardinality or link superiority.
Linkbait – Also known as link bait, this is
something on your site that people will notice and link to. By
linking to your site, other sites are saying they value the content
of your site and that they think other people will be interested in
it, too.
Linking Profile – A profile is a representation of the
extent to which something exhibits various characteristics. A
linking profile is the results of an analysis of where of your links
are coming from.
Log File - All server software stores information about
web site incoming and outgoing activities. Web log files function
like the “black box” that records everything during an airplane’s
flight. The log file is usually in the root directory but it may
also be found in a secondary folder. If you do not have permission
to access these files, then you will need the help of the server
administrator.
Log File Analysis - The analysis of records stored in the
log file. In its raw format, the data in the log files can be hard
to read and overwhelming. There are numerous log file analyzers that
convert log file data into user-friendly charts and graphs. A good
analyzer is generally considered an essential tool in SEO because it
can show search engine statistics such as the number of visitors
received from each search engine, the keywords each visitors used to
find the site, visits by search engine spiders etc.
Source: www.thewebdivision.com/glossary.html
Long Tail – Keyword phrases with at least three,
sometimes four or five, words in them. These long tail keywords are
usually highly specific and draw lower traffic than shorter, more
competitive keyword phrases, which is why they are also cheaper.
Oftentimes, long tail keywords, in aggregate, have good conversion
ratios for the low number of click-throughs they generate.
Long-tailed Keywords – Keyword phrases with at least 2 or
3 words in them.
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M
Meta Feeds – Ad networks that pull advertiser
listings from other providers. They may or may not have their own
distribution and advertiser networks.
META Refresh redirect - A client-side redirect.
Metrics - A system of measures that helps to quantify
particular characteristics. In SEO the following are some important
metrics to measure: overall traffic, search engine traffic,
conversions, top traffic-driving keywords, top conversion-driving
keywords, keyword rankings, etc.
Minimum Bid – The least amount that an advertiser
can bid for a keyword or keyword phrase and still be active on the
search ad network. This amount can range from $0.01 to $0.50 (or
more for highly competitive keywords), and are set by the search
engine.
Mod_rewrite - URL Rewrite processes, also known as “mod
rewrites,” are employed when a webmaster decides to reorganize a
current web site, either for the benefit of better user experience
with a new directory structure or to clean up URLs which are
difficult for search engines to index.
Multivariate Testing – A type of testing that varies and
tests more than one or two campaign elements at a time to determine
the best performing elements and combinations. Multivariate testing
can gather significant results on many different components of, for
example, alternative PPC ad titles or descriptions in a short period
of time. Often it requires special expertise to analyze complex
statistical results. (Compare to A/B Testing which changes
only one element at a time, alternately serving an “old” version ad
and a changed ad.) In search advertising, you might do A/B Split or
Multivariate testing to learn what parts of a landing page
(background color, title, headline, fill in forms, design, images)
produce higher conversions and are more cost effective.
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N
Naked Links – A posted and visible link in the text of a
web page that directs to a web site.
Negative Keywords – Filtered-out keywords to prevent ad
serves on them in order to avoid irrelevant click-through charges
on, for example, products that you do not sell, or to refine and
narrow the targeting of your Ad Group’s keywords. Microsoft adCenter
calls them "excluded keywords." Formatting negative keywords varies
by search engine; but they are usually designated with a minus sign.
No Frames Tag - A tag used to describe the content of a
frame to a user or engine which had trouble displaying / reading
frames. Frequently misused and often referred to as “Poor mans
cloaking”.
No Script Tag - The noscript element is used to define an
alternate content (text) if a script is NOT executed. This tag is
used for browsers that recognizes the <script> tag, but does not
support the script in it.
NoFollow - NoFollow is an attribute webmasters can place
on links that tell search engines not to count the link as a
vote or not to send any trust to that site. Search engines
will follow the link, yet it will not influence search results.
NoFollows can be added to any link with this code: “rel="nofollow"."
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O
Organic Results – Listings on SERPs that were not paid
for; listings for which search engines do not sell space. Sites
appear in organic (also called “natural”) results because a search
engine has applied formulas (algorithms) to its search crawler
index, combined with editorial decisions and content weighting, that
it deems important enough inclusion without payment. Paid
Inclusion Content is also often considered "organic" even though
it is paid advertising because paid inclusion content usually
appears on SERPs mixed with unpaid, organic results.
Organic Search Listings - Listings that search engines do
not sell (unlike paid listings). Instead, sites appear solely
because a search engine has deemed it editorially important for them
to be included, regardless of payment. Paid Inclusion Content
is also often considered "organic" even though it is paid for. This
is because paid inclusion content usually appears intermixed with
unpaid organic results.
Organic Search Rankings – Search engine ranking of web
pages found in SERPs.
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P
P4P – Acronym for Pay for Performance, also designated as
PFP. See also PPC Advertising.
PFP – Acronym for Pay for Performance; also designated as
P4P. See also PPC Advertising.
PPC – Acronym for Pay Per Click. See also PPC
Advertising.
PPCSE – Acronym for Pay-Per-Click Search Engine.
PageRank (PR) – PR is the Google technology developed at
Stanford University for placing importance on pages and web sites.
At one point, PageRank (PR) was a major factor in rankings. Today it
is one of hundreds of factors in the algorithm that determines a
page’s rankings.
Paid Inclusion – Refers to the process of paying a fee to
a search engine in order to be included in that search engine or
directory. Also known as “guaranteed inclusion.” Paid inclusion does
not impact rankings of a web page; it merely guarantees that the web
page itself will be included in the index. These programs were
typically used by web sites that were not being fully crawled or
were incapable of being crawled, due to dynamic URL structures,
frames, etc.
Pay Per Call – A model of paid advertising similar to Pay
Per Click (PPC), except advertisers pay for every phone call that
comes to them from a search ad, rather than for every click-through
to their web site landing page for the ad. Often higher cost than
PPC advertising; but valued by advertisers for higher conversion
rates from consumers who take the action step of telephoning an
advertiser.
Personas – These are "people types" or sub-groups that
encompass several attributes, such as gender, age, location, salary
level, leisure activities, lifestyle characteristics, marital/family
status or some kind of definable behavior. Useful profiles for
focusing ad messages and offers to targeted segments.
Podcasts – “A podcast is a media file that is
distributed over the internet using syndication feeds, for playback
on portable media players and personal computers. Like 'radio,' it
can mean both the content and the method of syndication. The latter
may also be termed podcasting. The host or author of a
podcast is often called a podcaster.” Source: Wikipedia
Position – In PPC advertising, position is the placement
on a search engine results page where your ad appears relative to
other paid ads and to organic search results. Top ranking paid ads
(high ranking 10 to 15 results, depending on the engine) usually
appear at the top of the SERP and on the “right rail” (right-side
column of the page). Ads appearing in the top three paid-ad or
Sponsored Ad slots are known as Premium Positions. Paid search ad
position is determined by confidential algorithms and Quality Score
measures specific to each search engine. However, factors in the
engines’ position placement under some advertiser control include
bid price, the ad’s CTR, relevancy of your ad to searcher requests,
relevance of your click-through landing page to the search request,
and quality measures search engines calculate to ensure quality user
experience.
Position Preference – A feature in Google AdWords
and in Microsoft adCenter enabling advertisers to specify in which
positions they would like their ads to appear on the SERP. Not a
position guarantee.
PPC Advertising – Acronym for Pay-Per-Click
Advertising, a model of online advertising in which advertisers pay
only for each click on their ads that directs searchers to a
specified landing page on the advertiser’s web site. PPC ads may get
thousands of impressions (views or serves of the ad); but, unlike
more traditional ad models billed on a CPM
(Cost-Per-Thousand-Impressions) basis, PPC advertisers only pay when
their ad is clicked on. Charges per ad click-through are based on
advertiser bids in hybrid ad space auctions and are influenced by
competitor bids, competition for keywords and search engines’
proprietary quality measures of advertiser ad and landing page
content.
PPC Management – The monitoring and maintenance of a
Pay-Per-Click campaign or campaigns. This includes changing bid
prices, expanding and refining keyword lists, editing ad copy,
testing campaign components for cost effectiveness and successful
conversions, and reviewing performance reports for reports to
management and clients, as well as results to feed into future PPC
campaign operations.
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Q
Quality Score – A number assigned by Google to paid
ads in a hybrid auction that, together with maximum CPC, determines
each ad’s rank and SERP position. Quality Scores reflect an ad’s
historical CTR, keyword relevance, landing page relevance, and other
factors proprietary to Google. Yahoo! refers to the Quality Score as
a Quality Index. And both Google and Yahoo! display 3- or 5-step
indicators of quality evaluations for individual advertisers.
Query – The keyword or keyword phrase a searcher enters
into a search field, which initiates a search and results in a SERP
with organic and paid listings.
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R
ROAS – Acronym for Return On Advertising Spending, the
profit generated by ad campaign conversions per dollar spent on
advertising expenses. Calculated by dividing advertising-driven
profit by ad spending.
ROI – Acronym for Return On Investment, the amount of
money you make on your ads compared to the amount of money you spend
on your ads. For example, if you spend $100 on PPC ads and make $150
from those ads, then your ROI would be 50%. (Calculated as: ($150 -
$100) / 100 = $50 / 100 = 50%.) The higher your ROI, the more
successful your advertising, although some practitioners in search
advertising consider ROAS a more useful metric, as it breaks down
cost and expenses by conversions per advertising dollar spent.
RSS – Acronym for Rich Site Summary or Real Simple
Syndication, a family of web feed formats that leverages
XML for distributing
and sharing headlines and information from other web content (also
known as syndication).
Rank – How well positioned a particular web page or web
site appears in search engine results. For example, if you rank at
position #1, you’re the first listed paid or sponsored ad. If you’re
in position #18, it is likely that your ad appears on the second or
third page of search results, after 17 competitor paid ads and
organic listings. Rank and position affect your click-through rates
and, ultimately, conversion rates for your landing pages.
Raw Data Feed – Raw data is information that has been
collected but not formatted, analyzed or processed. This raw data
can be used to build an optimized XML feed.
Reciprocal Link – Two different sites that link out to
each other. Also referred to as Cross Linking.
Relative URL’s Link - Relative URLs link to just
the file, for example, “page1.htm”. (See also Absolute URL’s link.)
Relevance – In relation to PPC advertising, relevance is a
measure of how closely your ad title, description, and keywords are
related to the search query and the searcher’s expectations.
Reverse DNS – A process to determine the hostname or host
associated with an IP or host address.
Revshare / Revenue Sharing – A method of
allocating per-click revenue to a site publisher, and click-through
charges to a search engine that distributes paid-ads to its context
network partners, for every page viewer who clicks on the content
site’s sponsored ads. A type of site finder’s fee.
Rich Media – Media with embedded motion or
interactivity. A growing option for PPC advertisers as rates of
broadband connectivity increase.
Right Rail – The common name for the right-side
column of a web page. On a SERP, right rail is usually where
sponsored listings appear.
Robots.txt - A text file present in the root directory of
a website which is used to direct the activity of search engine
crawlers. This file is typically used to tell a crawler which
portions of the site should be crawled and which should not be
crawled.
RSS (Really Simply Syndication, Rich Site Summary, RDF Site
Summary) - A family of web feed formats used for distributing
frequently updated digital content, such as blogs, news, podcasts,
and videos
RSS Aggregators – “A client software that uses web
feed to retrieve syndicated web content such as blogs, podcasts,
vlogs, and mainstream mass media websites, or in the case of a
search aggregator, a customized set of search results….Such
applications are also referred to as RSS readers, feed
readers, feed aggregators, news readers or
search aggregators. These have been recently supplemented by the
so-called RSS-narrators [such as TalkingNews or Talkr] which
not only aggregate news feeds but also converts them into podcasts.”
Source: Wikipedia
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S
SEO – Acronym for “Search Engine Optimization.” This is
the process of editing a web site’s content and code in order to
improve visibility within one or more search engines. When this term
is used to describe an individual, it stands for “Search Engine
Optimizer” or one who performs SEO.
SERP – Acronym for Search Engine Results Page, the page
delivered to a searcher that displays the results of a search query
entered into the search field. Displays both paid ad (sponsored) and
organic listings in varying positions or rank.
SSP Feed – See Search Submit Pro and Feeds.
Saturation (Search Engine Saturation) -- A term relating
to the number of URLs included from a specific web site in any given
search engine. The higher the saturation level or number of pages
indexed into a search engine, the higher the potential traffic
levels and rankings.
Search Directory - Similar to a search engine, in that
they both compile databases of web sites. A directory does not use
crawlers in order to obtain entries in its search database. Instead,
it relies on user interaction and submissions for the content it
contains. Submissions are then categorized by topic and normally
alphabetized, so that the results of any search will start with site
descriptions that begin with some number or non-letter character,
then moving from A-to-Z.
Search Engines - A search engine is a database of many web
pages. Most engines display the number of web pages they hold in
their database at any given time. A search engine generally “ranks”
or orders the results according to a set of parameters. These
parameters (called algorithms) vary among search engines; they are
always improving in order to identify spam as well as improve
relevance. See also SERP, Algorithm.
Search Funnel – Movement of searchers, who tend to do
several searches before reaching a buy decision, that works from
broad, general keyword search terms to narrower, specific keywords.
Advertisers use the search funnel to anticipate customer intent and
develop keywords targeted to different stages. Also refers to
potential for switches at stages in the funnel when, for example,
searchers start with keywords for a desired brand, but switch to
other brands after gathering information on the category. Microsoft
AdCenter tested a search funnel keyword tool in 2006 to target
keywords to search funnel stages.
Search Query – The word or phrase a searcher types into a
search field, which initiates search engine results page listings
and PPC ad serves. In PPC advertising, the goal is to bid on
keywords that closely match the search queries of the advertiser’s
targets. See also Query.
Search Submit Pro (SSP) – Search Submit Pro is Yahoo!’s
paid inclusion product that uses a “feed” tactic. With Search Submit
Pro, Yahoo! crawls your web site as well as an optimized XML feed
that represents the content on your site. Yahoo! applies its
algorithm to both the actual web site pages and the XML feed to
determine which listing is most appropriate to appear in the organic
search results when a user conducts a search for relevant terms.
Yahoo! charges a CPC, determined by category, for each time a
listing established through SSP is clicked.
Secondary Links – Links that are indirectly acquired
links, such as a story in a major newspaper about a new product your
company released.
Semantic Clustering – A technique for developing relevant
keywords for PPC Ad Groups, by focusing tightly on keywords and
keyword phrases that are associative and closely related, referred
to as "semantic clustering.” Focused and closely-related keyword
groups, which would appear in the advertiser’s ad text and in the
content of the click-through landing page, are more likely to meet
searchers’ expectations and, therefore, support more effective
advertising and conversion rates.
Server-side Tracking -- The process of analyzing web
server log files. Server-side analytics tools make sense of raw data
to generate meaningful reports and trends analysis.
Session Id’s – dynamic parameters, such as session IDs
generated by cookies for each individual user. Session IDs
cause search engines to see a different URL for each page each time
that they return to re-crawl a web site.
Share of Voice –”A brand's (or group of brands')
advertising weight, expressed as a percentage of a defined total
market or market segment in a given time period. SOV advertising
weight is usually defined in terms of expenditure, ratings, pages,
poster sites, etc.” Source: Wikipedia
Siloing – Siloing (also known as Theming) is a site
architecture technique used to split the focus of a site into
multiple themes. The goal behind siloing is to create a site that
ranks well for both its common and more-targeted keywords.
Source: Bruce Clay Newsletter 09/06
Site-Targeted Ads – Site targeting lets advertisers
display their ads on manually-selected sites in the search engine’s
content network for content or contextual ad serves. Site-targeted
ads are billed more like traditional display ads, per 1000
impressions (CPM), and not on a Pay-Per-Click basis.
Social Media or Social Search – Sites where users
actively participate to determine what is popular.
SPAM – Any search marketing method that a search engine
deems to be detrimental to its efforts to deliver relevant, quality
search results. Some search engines have written guidelines on their
definitions and penalties for SPAM. Examples include doorway landing
pages designed primarily to game search engine algorithms rather
than meet searcher expectations from the advertiser’s clicked-on ad;
keyword stuffing in which search terms that motivated a
click-through are heavily and redundantly repeated on a page in
place of relevant content; attempts to redirect click-through
searchers to irrelevant pages, product offers and services; and
landing pages that simply compile additional links on which a
searcher must click to get any information. Determining what
constitutes SPAM is complicated by the fact that different search
engines have different standards, including what is allowable for
listings gathered through organic methods versus paid inclusion
(referred to as spamdexing), whether the listing is from a
commercial or research/academic source, etc. Source: Webmaster
World Forums
Spamming – Spamming refers to a wide array of techniques
used to “trick” the search engines. These tactics generally are
against the guidelines put forth by the search engines. Tactics such
as Hidden text, Doorway Pages, Content Duplication and Link Farming
are but a few of many spam techniques employed over the years. (Also
see: delicious lunchmeat.)
Spider – See Crawler.
Splash Page – Refers to an entry page or main page of a
web site that is interactive or graphically intense. Many splash
pages are designed using Flash.
Sponsored Listing – A term used as a title or column head
on SERPs to identify paid advertisers and distinguish between paid
and organic listings. Alternate names are Paid Listings or
Paid Sponsors. Separating paid listings from organic results
enables searchers to make their own purchase and site trust
decisions and, in fact, resulted from an FTC complaint filed by
Commercial Alert in 2001 alleging that the confusion caused in
consumers who saw mixed paid and unpaid results constituted fraud in
advertising.
Statistical Validity – The degree to which an observed
result, such as a difference between two measurements, can be relied
upon and not attributed to random error in sampling or in
measurement. Statistical Validity is important to the reliability of
test results, particularly in Multivariate Testing methods.
Source: UsabilityFirst.com
Stop Word A word that often appears in a page’s copy or
content, but it has no significance by itself. Examples of stop
words are: and, the, of, etc.
Submission - The act of submitting a web site to search
engines and search directories. For some search engines, this is
performed simply by typing in the absolute home page URL of the web
site you wish to submit. Other engines and directories request that
descriptions of the web site be submitted for approval.
Super Verbs - Compelling verbs that trigger emotions or
visual images.
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T
TLP – Acronym for Top Level Page, a reference to the home
page, category pages, or product pages that have unique value for
the site and so are structured in the top levels of the site
directory.
TLP Feed – Acronym for Top Level Page feed, the often
automatic and on-subscription feed of an advertiser’s home page or
unique category pages. See also Feeds.
Tail Terms – Search terms that are very specific, long
phrases that include one or more modifiers, such as "cheapest
helicopter skiing near Banff BC." These longer, more specific terms
are called "tail terms" based on a bell-curve distribution of
keyword usage that displays the low numbers of little-used terms at
the “tail” end of the bell curve graph. (See “The Long Tail” by
Wired editor Chris Anderson.) Although long, specific and
lesser-used tail terms have low CTRs, they are less competitive (and
therefore cheaper) and often catch buyers at the end of the purchase
decision process. This means that, even with low click-through
numbers, tail terms can have good conversion rates. See also Head
Terms.
Targeting – Narrowly focusing ads and keywords to attract
a specific, marketing-profiled searcher and potential customer. You
can target to geographic locations (geo-targeting), by days of the
week or time of day (dayparting), or by gender and age (demographic
targeting). Targeting features vary by search engine. Newer ad
techniques and software focus on behavioral targeting, based on web
activity and behaviors that are predictive for potential customers
who might be more receptive to particular ads.
Themes - A theme is an overall idea of what a web page is
focused on. Search engines determine the theme of a web page through
analysis in the algorithm of the density of associated words on a
page.
Tier I Search Engines – The top echelon, or top
three, search engines that serve the vast majority of searcher
queries. Also referred to as Major Engines, Top Tier Engines or GYM,
for Google, Yahoo! and Microsoft Live Search.
Tier II Search Engines – Smaller, vertical and specialized
engines, including general engines, such as Ask.com and AOL;
meta-engines that search and display results from other search
engines, such as Dogpile; local engines, shopping and comparison
engines, and business vertical engines. Tier II Search Engines don’t
offer the search query market share or features of the Tier I
engines; however, Tier II engines can target specific, niche markets
and are usually lower cost.
Tier III Search Engines – Contextual distribution
networks, through which marketers’ ads appear on pages within the
PPC engine’s content network, triggered by user web site page views
at the moment that contain the advertiser’s keyword in its content.
Cost is usually through Cost-Per-Thousand-Impressions (CPM) charges,
rather than Pay Per Click (PPC). As discussed in Fundamentals
coursework, Google’s contextual distribution program is called
AdSense; Yahoo!’s is called Content Match.
Title Tag - An HTML tag appearing in the <head> tag of a
web page that contains the page title. The page title should
be determined by the relevant contents of that specific web page.
The contents of a title tag for a web page is generally displayed in
a search engine result as a bold blue underlined hyperlink.
Trackbacks - A protocol that allows a blogger to link to
posts, often on other blogs, that relate to a selected subject.
Blogging software that supports Trackback includes a "TrackBack URL"
with each post that displays other blogs that have linked to it.
Source: Blog Terms Glossary Tech at Whatis.techtarget.com
Tracking URL – A specially designed and/or unique
URL created to track an action or conversion from paid advertising.
The URL can include strings that will show what keyword was used,
what match type was triggered, and what search engine delivered the
visitor.
Trademarks – Distinctive symbols, pictures or words that
identify a specific product or service. Received through
registration with the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office. Tier I search
engines prohibit bids on trademarks as keywords if the bidder is not
the legal owner, though this keyword bid practice is still allowed
by Google.
Traffic – Refers to the number of visitors a website
receives. It can be determined by examination of web logs.
Traffic Analysis – The process of analyzing traffic to a
web site to understand what visitors are searching for and what is
driving traffic to a site.
Trusted Feed – Also known as Paid Inclusion, a trusted
feed is a fee-based custom crawl service offered by some search
engines. These results appear in the “organic search results” of the
engine. Typically, the fee is based on a “cost per click,” depending
on the category of site content. It has been called a “Trusted Feed”
due to the ability to actually alter the content in the feed,
without changing the existing website. Also see: Paid Inclusion.
TXT//AD – Text ads as mobile device text messages.
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U
USPTO – Acronym for United States Patent & Trademark
Office. See also Trademarks.
Unique Visitor – Identifies an actual web surfer (as
opposed to a crawler) and is tracked by a unique identifiable
quality (typically IP address). If a visitor comes to a web site and
clicks on 100 links, it is still only counted as one unique visit.
Usability – This term refers to how "user friendly" a web
site and its functions are. A site with good usability is a site
that makes it easy for visitors to find the information they are
looking for or to perform the action they desire. Bad usability is
anything that causes confusion or problems for the user. For
example, large Flash animations served to a visitor with a dial up
connection causes poor usability. Easy, intuitive navigation and
clear, informative text enhance usability.
User Agent - This is the identity of a web site visitor,
spider, browser, etc. The most common user agents are Mozilla and
Internet Explorer.
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V
Value Propositions – “A customer value proposition
is the sum total of benefits a customer is promised to receive in
return for his or her custom and the associated payment (or other
value transfer).“ A customer value proposition is what is promised
by a company's marketing and sales efforts, and then fulfilled by
its delivery and customer service processes.” Source: Wikipedia
Vertical Creep – Positioning trends when vertical
listings appear at the top of organic search engine results and
below top sponsored listings (when they are displayed on the SERP).
Vertical Portal / Vortal – Search engines that focus on a
specific industry or sector. Such vertical search engines (also
called “vortals”) have much more specific indexes and provide
narrower and more focused search results than the Tier I search
engines.
Verticals – A vertical is a specific business group or
category, such as insurance, automotive or travel. Vertical search
offers targeted search options and PPC opportunities to a specific
business category.
Viral Marketing – Also called viral advertising,
viral marketing refers to marketing techniques that use pre-existing
social networks to produce increases in brand awareness. The
awareness increases are the result of self-replicating viral
processes, analogous to the spread of pathological and computer
viruses. It can often be word-of-mouth delivered and enhanced
online; it can also harness the network effect of the internet and
can be very useful in reaching a large number of people rapidly.
Source: Wikipedia
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W
Web Forwarding - Web forwarding allows for redirects to
exist within an .htaccess file on a separate server.
Web Server Logs – Most web server software,
and all good web analytics packages, keep a running count of all
search terms used by visitors to your site. These running counts are
kept in large text files called Log Files or Web Server
Logs. Useful for developing and refining PPC campaign keyword
lists.
Web TV – Television set-top boxes that allow users
to browse the Internet from their televisions without a computer
system. Perennial future opportunity as new PPC ad channel offering
the option to use rich media formats.
Wiki -- Software that allows people to contribute
knowledge on a particular topic. A wiki is another web publishing
platform that makes use of technologies similar to blogs and also
allows for collaboration with multiple people.
Wikipedia – “Wikipedia is a multilingual, web-based, free
content encyclopedia project. Wikipedia is written collaboratively
by volunteers; its articles can be edited by anyone with access to
the web site.” Source: Wikipedia
Word Count - The total number of words contained within a
web document.
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X
XML – Stands for “Extensible Markup Language,” a data
delivery language.
XML Feeds – A form of paid inclusion in which a search
engine is fed information about an advertiser’s web pages via XML,
rather than requiring that the engine gather that information
through crawling actual pages. Marketers pay to have their pages
included in a spider-based search index based on an XML format
document that represents each page on the advertiser site.
Advertisers pay either annually per URL or on a CPC basis – and are
assured of frequent crawl cycles. New media types are being
introduced into paid inclusion, including graphics, video, audio,
and rich media.
XML Feeds -- A form of paid inclusion where a search
engine is "fed" information about pages via XML, rather than
gathering that information through crawling actual pages. Marketers
can pay to have their pages included in a spider-based search index
either annually (per URL), or on a CPC basis (based on an XML
document representing each page on the client site). New media types
are being introduced into paid inclusion, including graphics, video,
audio, and rich media.
XML Maps - XML maps are specially formatted links to your
pages. They will never replace the need for HTML site maps.
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SEMPO
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